12 Days Of Christmas – Did You Know…

A Twelve day celebration

The 12 days are a time of Re-dedication and Renewal

It was also a period when small, simple, and usually symbolic gifts of faith were given to children. Thus, in both coded poems and public worship, the twelve days were considered a holy period.

When Are the 12 Days of Christmas?

The 12 days of Christmas traditionally begin on Christmas Day, December 25, and ended on January 5th. That is right, The party started the day of Jesus’s Birth and went for 12 days. Now that is a Celebration!

Read on for the true meaning of the twelve days:

First day of Christmas – The Partridge in a Pear Tree – Jesus Christ

Second day of Christmas – Two Turtle Doves – The Old and New Testaments

Third day of Christmas – Three French Hens – Faith, Hope, Love

Fourth day of Christmas – Four Calling Birds – Matthew,Mark, Luke, John

Fifth day of Christmas – Five Golden Rings – The Law; The First Five Books of the Old Testament

Sixth day of Christmas – Six Geese a Laying – Six Days of Creation, in the beginning

Seventh day of Christmas – Seven Swans a Swimming – The Seven-Fold Gifts of the Holy Spirit: Prophesy, Serving, Teaching, Exhortation, Contribution, Leadership, and Mercy

Eighth day of Christmas – Eight Maids a Milking – The Eight Blessings said from Jesus on the Sermon on the Mount

Ninth day of Christmas – Nine Ladies Dancing – Nine fruits of the Holy Spirit; Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness, and Self Control

Tenth day of Christmas – Ten Lords a Leaping – The Ten Commandments

Eleventh day of Christmas – Eleven Pipers Piping – The Eleven Faithful Disciples

Twelfth day of Christmas – Twelve Drummers Drumming – Twelve Points of Belief in Apostles’ Creed

What a History Lesson. This should be taught during the VBS holiday!

If you would like to learn more check out Christianity.com

Looking for a Place to visit Christmas Eve we made a little list: Coming Soon

A Very Merry Christmas to all ya’ll!